F1 Spanish Grand Prix preview: Previous winners, fastest lap, track layout, history and more

Author Photo
Circuit Barcelona-Catalunya Spanish GP
Red Bull Content Pool

Formula One returns to the Iberian peninsula with Aston Martin's Fernando Alonso eyeing up another famous victory at his home track in 2023. 

The 41-year-old veteran has been in scintillating form so far this season with his new team, taking five podium finishes across six races and he'll be hoping to add to his prior victories at Circuit de Catalunya in both 2006 and 2013 when the action gets going this weekend. 

From circuit stats to previous results, The Sporting News tells you everything you need to know about the Spanish Grand Prix and its illustrious history.

MORE: F1 Spanish Grand Prix predictions, odds, betting tips, best bets for 2023 race

Circuit de Catalunya circuit facts and layout

  • First Grand Prix hosted: 1951 (hosted since 1913 but not as part of F1)
  • Numbers of laps: 66
  • Circuit length: 4.657km
  • Total race distance: 307.236km

MORE: 2023 season calendar, list of circuits, fastest ever lap times and more

Five interesting facts about the Spanish Grand Prix

  • Lella Lombardi is the only woman to have scored a top-six finish in an F1 race throughout history. She recorded half a point for finishing P6 during the 1975 Spanish Grand Prix on the Montjuïc circuit in Barcelona.
  • Back in 2012, Williams driver Pastor Maldonado shocked the F1 world and took his only ever victory during that year's Spanish Grand Prix. 
  • At 18 years and 228 days years of age, Max Verstappen became the youngest ever winner of a F1 Grand Prix at the 2016 Spanish Grand Prix.
  • Circuit de Catalunya in Barcelona also hosts a round of the MotoGP championship.
  • The 2023 Spanish Grand Prix will be the first since 2006 to see the final chicane removed from the track layout. The move has been made to improve racing much to the relief of fans and some drivers with Lewis Hamilton stating; “I never liked it”.

List of previous winners of the Spanish Grand Prix

Below is a full list of winners at the Spanish Grand Prix from when the race has been a part of the Formula One calendar. It has hosted races since 1913 overall during its history.

YearWinnerConstructor of winner
1951Juan Manuel FangioAlfa Romeo
1954Mike HawthornFerrari
1968Graham HillLotus-Ford
1969Jackie StewartMatra-Ford
1970Jackie StewartMarch-Ford
1971Jackie StewartTyrrell-Ford
1972Emerson FittipaldiLotus-Ford
1973Emerson FittipaldiLotus-Ford
1974Niki LaudaFerrari
1975Jochen MassMcLaren
1976James HuntMcLaren
1977Mario AndrettiLotus-Ford
1978Mario AndrettiLotus-Ford
1979Patrick DepaillerLigier-Ford
1981Gilles VilleneuveFerrari
1986Ayrton SennaMcLaren
1987Nigel MansellWilliams
1988Alain ProstMcLaren
1989Ayrton SennaMcLaren
1990Alain ProstFerrari
1991Nigel MansellWilliams
1992Nigel MansellWilliams
1993Alain ProstWilliams
1994Damon HillWilliams
1995Michael SchumacherBenetton
1996Michael SchumacherFerrari
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliams
1998Mika HäkkinenMcLaren
1999Mika HäkkinenMcLaren
2000Mika HäkkinenMcLaren
2001Michael SchumacherFerrari
2002Michael SchumacherFerrari
2003Michael SchumacherFerrari
2004Michael SchumacherFerrari
2005Kimi RäikkönenMcLaren
2006Fernando AlonsoRenault
2007Felipe MassaFerrari
2008Kimi RäikkönenMcLaren
2009Jenson ButtonBrawn-Mercedes
2010Mark WebberRed Bull
2011Sebastian VettelRed Bull
2012Pastor MaldonadoWilliams
2013Fernando AlonsoFerrari
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2015Nico RosbergMercedes
2016Max VerstappenRed Bull
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2020Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2021Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2022Max VerstappenRed Bull
Nathan Evans Photo

Nathan Evans is a data editor for The Sporting News.