What channel is the Spelling Bee on today? Time, TV schedule, live stream to watch 2023 finals

Author Photo
Scripps National Spelling Bee
(Getty Images)

The 94th annual Scripps National Spelling Bee is coming to a close Thursday and you won't want to miss any of the wordplay.

An intense five-round semifinals event on Wednesday eliminated 220 participants, stripping the thick, 231-speller field down to it's bare bones. There are going to be 11 spellers in the finals Thursday.

Last year's Bee was won by Harini Logan of San Antonio, Texas. The 14-year-old was part of the competition's first-ever spell-off, spelling the word "moorhen" — defined small aquatic birds that is a member of the rail family — correctly to win the title.

MORE: Spelling Bee live results

Here's what you need to know to watch the final round of the 2023 Scripps National Spelling Bee and to see which kid will bring home the prestigious title this year:

What channel is the Spelling Bee Finals on today?

  • TV channel: ION, Bounce

The Scripps National Spelling Bee is back on ION for the second year in a row, with all finals coverage coming Thursday, June 1 in primetime. 

Last year, Bee programming was seen by 7.5 million viewers and drew its largest television audience since 2015, according to a Scripps press release. The Spelling Bee had been a fixture on ESPN for 27 years before moving to ION.

MORE: Meet the Scripps National Spelling Bee's longtime pronouncer

Spelling Bee Finals start time

  • Date: Thursday, June 1
  • Time: 8-10 p.m. ET

The Scripps National Spelling Bee Finals will air on ION at primetime, between 8-10 p.m. ET, on Thursday, June 1. You can use ION's zip code tool to find your local cable affiliates.

MORE: Spelling Bee age eligibility, explained

How to live stream Scripps National Spelling Bee Finals

The Scripps National Spelling Bee Finals can be streamed live with ION Plus, at spellingbee.com or on Fubo, which offers a free trial for new subscribers.

Scripps' other national entertainment networks — Defy TV, Grit, ION Mystery, and Laff — will also be broadcasting the finals.

And if you're busy Thursday night from 8-10 p.m. ET, well don't worry. A rebroadcast of the finals will be available to watch from 9-11 p.m. ET on June 2 and 8-10 p.m. on June 3.

MORE: Spelling Bee rules, explained

Spelling Bee schedule 2023

The Scripps National Spelling Bee was a three-day event that occurred from May 30 to June 1. There are still no public details on when next year's event will take place.

Round Date Time (ET) Channel Stream
Preliminaries Tuesday, May 30 9 a.m.-7:30 p.m. N/A ION Plus
Quarterfinals Wednesday, May 31 8 a.m.-1 p.m. N/A ION Plus
Semifinals Wednesday, May 31 8-10 p.m. Ion TV ION Plus, Fubo
Finals Thursday, June 1 8-10 p.m. Ion TV ION Plus, Fubo

List of past Spelling Bee winners

This is a complete list of the kids who have taken home the trophy from the Scripps National Spelling Bee in the 93 years it's been running. The full list of words each competitor correctly spelled to become a champion can be found on The Sporting News' website.

Year Winner State/Territory
1925 Frank Neuhauser Kentucky
1926 Pauline Bell Kentucky
1927 Dean Lucas Ohio
1928 Betty Robinson Indiana
1929 Virginia Hogan Nebraska
1930 Helen Jensen Iowa
1931 Ward Randall Illinois
1932 Dorothy Greenwalk Iowa
1933 Alma Roach Ohio
1934 Sarah Wilson Maine
1935 Clara Mohler Ohio
1936 Jean Trowbridge Iowa
1937 Waneeta Beckley Kentucky
1938 Marian Richardson Kentucky
1939 Elizabeth Ann Rice Massachusetts
1940 Laurel Kuykendall Tennessee
1941 Louis Edward Sissman Michigan
1942 Richard Earnhart Texas
1946 John McKinney Iowa
1947 Mattie Lou Pollard Georgia
1948 Jean Chappelear Ohio
1949 Kim Calvin Ohio
1950 Colquitt Dean Georgia
1950 Diana Reynard Ohio
1951 Irving Belz Tennessee
1952 Doris Ann Hall North Carolina
1953 Elizabeth Hess Arizona
1954 William Cashore Pennsylvania
1955 Sandra Sloss Missouri
1956 Melody Sachko Pennsylvania
1957 Sandra Owen Ohio
1957 Dana Bennett Colorado
1958 Jolitta Schlehuber Kansas
1959 Joel Montgomery Colorado
1960 Henry Feldman Tennessee
1961 John Capeheart Oklahoma
1962 Nettie Crawford Texas
1962 Michael Day Missouri
1963 Glen Van Slyke III Tennessee
1964 William Kerek Ohio
1965 Michael Kerpan Jr. Oklahoma
1966 Robert A. Wake Texas
1967 Jennifer Reinke Nebraska
1968 Robert L. Walters Kansas
1969 Susan Yoachum Texas
1970 Libby Childress North Carolina
1971 Jonathan Knisely Pennsylvania
1972 Robin Kral Texas
1973 Barrie Trinkle Texas
1974 Julie Ann Junkin Alabama
1975 Hugh Tosteson Garcia Puerto Rico
1976 Tim Kneale New York
1977 John Paola Pennsylvania
1978 Peg McCarthy Kansas
1979 Katie Kerwin Colorado
1980 Jacques Bailly Colorado
1981 Paige Pipkin Texas
1982 Molly Dieveney Colorado
1983 Blake Giddens Texas
1984 Daniel Greenblatt Virginia
1985 Balu Natarajan Illinois
1986 Jon Pennington Pennsylvania
1987 Stephanie Petit Pennsylvania
1988 Rageshree Ramachandran California
1989 Scott Isaacs Colorado
1990 Amy Marie Dimak Washington
1991 Joanna Lagatta Wisconsin
1992 Amanda Goad Virginia
1993 Geoff Hooper Tennessee
1994 Ned G. Andrews Tennessee
1995 Justin Tyler Carroll Tennessee
1996 Wendy Guey Florida
1997 Rebecca Sealfon New York
1998 Jody-Anne Maxwell Jamaica
1999 Nupur Lala Florida
2000 George Abraham Thampy Missouri
2001 Sean Conley Minnesota
2002 Pratyush Buddiga Colorado
2003 Sai Gunturi Texas
2004 David Scott Pilarski Tidmarsh Indiana
2005 Anurag Kashyap California
2006 Katharine Close New Jersey
2007 Evan M. O'Dorney California
2008 Sameer Mishra Indiana
2009 Kavya Shivashankar Kansas
2010 Anamika Veeramani Ohio
2011 Sukanya Roy Pennsylvania
2012 Snigdha Nandipati California
2013 Arvind Mahankali New York
2014 Sriram Hathwar New York
2014 Ansun Sujoe Texas
2015 Gokul Venkatachalam Missouri
2015 Vanya Shivashankar Kansas
2016 Jairam Hathwar New York
2016 Nihar Janga Texas
2017 Ananya Vinay California
2018 Karthik Nemmani Texas
2019 Rishik Gandhasri California
2019 Saketh Sundar Maryland
2019 Shruthika Padhy New Jersey
2019 Sohum Sukhatankar Texas
2019 Erin Howard Alabama
2019 Abhijay Kodali Texas
2019 Christopher Serrao Pennsylvania
2019 Rohan Raja Texas
2021 Zaila Avant-garde Louisiana
2022 Harini Logan Texas
Author Photo
Sara Tidwell is an editorial intern with The Sporting News.